Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

I finally decided to revive my blog by doing some daily blog challenge.

So for today’s question: When I was growing up, my mother usually play 70s songs like Beatles and ABBA on the radio. My dad bought tapes of old singers like Frank Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Lionel Richie and I grew up belting out Dancing Queen and Chiquitita (I can imagine our neighbors wincing at my childish voice trebling over the high notes).

I can clearly remembering using my mother’s hairbrush, pretending I am Whitney Houston in front of the mirror. But in any case, I grew up appreciating music. So, not much to my surprise, I grew up to enjoy singing. Modesty aside, I got a fine set of lungs and pipes that I can sing Broadway songs with little, if not without, difficulty. My range is mezzo soprano, when I first learned I could sing. Or at least, I used to, when I have warm up. My music preferences are eclectic– I liked old songs (say around 20s or 30s), classical music, dance music and even some pop artist (well, Lady Gaga does sound fantastic, at times). My favorite singers also varies, but I favored alternative rock and classical. My parents also love to sing so I enjoyed singing, too. Unfortunately, I have tremendous stage fright. I will only sing if I really have to, or if it’s a choir song.

About chocolatedazed

I am currently a researcher who is curious and fascinated about human nature. I am a cat, chocolate, caffeine, book and nature lover. I also like music-- most of them, anyway. A Filipino at soul and heart but likes Japanese language and culture. Bookworm, iska, techie and sometimes just plain crazy. I write to let my thoughts out so they won't haunt me before I sleep. Halong diskurso, personal na buhay, wala lang, obserbasyon, pag-uulayaw ng akademiya at interes, konting politikal (kahit na di naman ako ganun kabihasa). Lahat pang-araw-araw na nakikita sa sipat ng aking balintataw.

Mag-iwan ng puna