Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You

I’m going to skip days because this question reminded me of my closest friends and best friends. Warning though. TMI alert.

I have 4 girls that I am very close with. 3 of them are part of YRT (known also a Yuri Raep Tiemz– Jacjac named our group as such, or was it Joy? Well, it doesn’t really matter! Heh.) and the other is my “surrogate” mom (because she shares my mom’s birthday). I also have a very close male friend (okay, I’ll be honest– he is my best friend. Male bestie, in fact).

My YRT ladies, according to the time I met them– Joy, Jackie and Jacjac.

My surrogate mom, Lynn-nee.

My male bestie– Doc Jay.

What I love about my YRT ladies: They have different personalities but we have so much in common– love for anime, games, girl stuff (maybe not me on some extent– but they all love to doll me up. I try as much as I could to ESCAPE and I always end up in their tender mercies but I let them, anyway), sensible talks and love for life. I’ll have to describe the girls as I met them.

Joy’s the perky, fiery and gyaaru type. I fondly call her “ukechama” and she calls me bunnehchama (I originally wanted her to be called bunnehchama but the girls voted me the bunny because I ended up wearing her bunny headgear. Then again, I was not eager to be called uke). I met her when I was in college in one of our organization’s activities. Joy was one of the founding cosplayers for Sailor Moon and expressed interest to join but because she was also too far from our hanging out place (her college is located extreme north west part of the university) that she just ended up hanging around. Since I am also a Moonie, we clicked and got to fan girl about Sailor Moon. We lost in touch but she kept sending me e-mails until my work brought me near her workplace. We ended up hanging out again and this made us closer. She was also the one responsible why I met the others. ^-^v She’s our official glomper and she somewhat enjoys groping us (then again, knowing her, if she reads it, she’ll yell– “I have no shame because TRUTH!” with matching V sign). Their residence is our official YRT headquarters (pre-Avengers) but because she loves Avengers, she dubbed herself as Tony Stark and the Yuri Mansion is now called The Stark tower. She’s also responsible for official fan girling of different fandoms to which she will always triumphantly declare, “Because REASONS!” As our resident hothead, she gets into many scrapes because she always believes in fighting for what she believes. Not a bad thing but it sometimes also gets us to some friction. Regardless, I love her fiery side and even her perfectionist side, even at her worst.

Jackie is the ojousama (but she’ll kill me if she knew I said it) among us. I tease her a lot because of it and I fondly call her moechama. However, she also is the most sensible and also the most maternal. I met her when Joy introduced me when I was already working in Ortigas. I thought of her as reserved and very elegant (thus, I thought she was really an ojousama). To be honest, it took me a while to warm up with her because I was intimidated by her. It was when I had hung out more (and without Joy) with her when I got to see her sensible side and the reason why she is quite reserved to people. I learned she has empathy on people and she is quite sensitive to others (being a Crab– her birthday’s a day before my mom’s). I ended up hanging more with her after Joy moved out of Ortigas and bonded well with her. At her wedding preps, I got somewhat adopted by her family and I ended up visiting both sides of Jacinto and Villarama. I also became chums with her husband (thankfully, she has no jealous bone in her body– her husband also has none so long we return her to his side after). She’s scarily workaholic but can be utterly lazy. She’s very domesticated and our resident homebody. She was dubbed as Cap-chan by Joy (to her extreme reluctance). She loves her whiskey as much as she loves her angst. Gamer girl to the core, she influenced most of my preference on manga and even otome.

Jacjac’s the chameleon of the group. I call her fondly “kittehchama” because, like me, she loves cats. She can be sensible but she can be as crazy as Joy. I met her, again, through Joy. Unlike with Jackie, I was in awe with her because by the time I met her, she was a sort of celebrity in the cosplay world in the country. I had this mindset that she’s a snob but she quickly proved me wrong by being the sweetest girl who has a mild case of Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde syndrome. One moment she’s sweet, the next moment she’ll be trolling and lol-ing along. She’s the oldest in our group but sometimes, I felt the greatest need to protect her (I usually am quite protective of lady friends). However, she’s no shrinking flower because she’s the toughest among us and can be utterly straight out blunt when it comes to giving her thoughts and opinions. She’s a lady of contrast. She cosplays skanky but she’s very modest and conservative in thoughts. She can be potty mouth but would reprimand me if I say something horribly inappropriate. She’s our Bruce Banner right down because sometimes, she’s got anger issues. But contrary on being Hulk when mad, she becomes quite indifferent and blithely forget the issue. She loves fiercely and is loyal to the extreme, especially on those she loves dearly.

All in all, what bound us together is our love for each other. We stood by and accepted each other as much as any blood sisters would love and accept each other for what we are. All will move heaven and earth to help and protect one another. Each one experienced that kind of love and fierceness one way or the other. Since we’re talking of Avengers, 1000 brownie points to the one who can guess what Avengers character they dubbed me. I still vehemently deny it but it always becomes their greatest habit to prove that the character suits me to a T…. Ah. Oh. Oops. >_<

My surrogate mom, Lynn-nee, was introduced to me by my former teacher and now friend during a Harry Potter movie. We ended up talking about fandoms and books. Lynn-nee is more of my book buddy because she loves books more than anime fandom. She sort of adopted me and tends to spoil me overmuch but of course, I become her “willing” petto. She’s also like Jackie in so many ways– ojousama, sensible, motherly and very manipulative. Hehe. She also tends to put so much herself on the things that matter to her before her own self. She’s also the OC-type and gets into a mass of nerves when I show up like some rambunctious puppy.

Doc Jay was nicknamed Heero-kun but I never called him that (except on my phone) because it reminded me of his ex-gf I called Relena-chan. And as much as I hate to admit it, I got more bitter of their breakup than he did because of how she treated him.

Moving along, Jay and I met in our academic organization. He was an applicant and I was already a member. He experienced my nasty side when he was one of the “unlucky” applicants that I had their signature sheets crumpled. He was then became wary of me, but being wily-nily, I rebuked him for being afraid of me. Until one day, we ended up talking and finding so many things in common, we became eventually friends. And now I realized that among them, he’s my oldest friend. 10 years of friendship! What made our friendship special is that he’s one of the few people who can read my mind or my feelings in one look. There may be a lot of silence or unfinished sentences or thoughts between us but we understood each other without saying our thoughts aloud. It’s almost funny how he and I are synchronized.

All in all, what I love about them is I can be as real as I can be when I am with them. No restrictions. No pretenses. They can see right through me and will have no qualms telling me off when I get too stubborn. They love me the way I am and I love them the way they are. There’s nothing they won’t do for me and I’ll do everything and anything for them.

About chocolatedazed

I am currently a researcher who is curious and fascinated about human nature. I am a cat, chocolate, caffeine, book and nature lover. I also like music-- most of them, anyway. A Filipino at soul and heart but likes Japanese language and culture. Bookworm, iska, techie and sometimes just plain crazy. I write to let my thoughts out so they won't haunt me before I sleep. Halong diskurso, personal na buhay, wala lang, obserbasyon, pag-uulayaw ng akademiya at interes, konting politikal (kahit na di naman ako ganun kabihasa). Lahat pang-araw-araw na nakikita sa sipat ng aking balintataw.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

